GitLab

Gestion complète du cycle de vie de DevOps

Note globale

4,6 /5
(822)
Rapport qualité-prix
4,5/5
Fonctionnalités
4,6/5
Simplicité d'utilisation
4,4/5
Support client
4,2/5

96%
des utilisateurs recommandent cette application
Classer par

Avis clients sur 822

Utilisateur vérifié
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 1 001-5 000 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Meilleur outil pour developer en équipe, garder une trace et collaborer

Publié le 03/12/2022

GitLab est une plate-forme et un processus DevOps parfaits. En termes de paramètres de sécurité et de configuration de compte, GitLab est si flexible. En termes collaboratif, c'est un très bon outil pour collaborer sur des projets de développent.

Avantages

GitHub est un référentiel de code, simple à apprendre et facile à utiliser. Il facilite le travail avec plusieurs branches où il permet le partage de branches sans difficultés. Il est également facile à intégrer avec d'autres outils. GitLab fournit des référentiels privés et publics gratuits. GitLab facilite mon travail en fournissant de nombreuses fonctionnalités telles que le test de code, le déploiement et la gestion. C'est une plate-forme très simple pour les nouveaux utilisateurs. Plusieurs utilisateurs peuvent également travailler sur un seul projet en partageant le code.

Inconvénients

Je suis satisfait du produit où le personnel et la communauté GitLab sont utiles lorsque je pose des questions sur quelque chose. J'aime vraiment l'utiliser, mais parfois cela semble lent lorsque l'application Web prend un peu de temps pour ouvrir n'importe quelle page, même avec de bons serveurs.

Utilisateur vérifié
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 7.0 /10

GitLab - Outil de gestion de projets

Publié le 28/11/2022

Selon mon experience, j'ai utilisé GitLab afin de créer des répertoires privés gratuitement. GitLab a fournit aussi un support et un outil de livraison de projets.

Avantages

Le plus apprécié dans ce logiciel est que ca fournit gratuitement des répertoires gratuits privés. Ainsi, GitLab dispose d'un système de gestion de projet complet avec toutes les fonctionnalités nécessaires afin de déployer n'importe quel projet. Aussi, GitLab est très flexible dans la collaboration ou la mise à jour du travail ou des tickets.

Inconvénients

Le moins apprécié dans ce logiciel est que l'interface utilisateur UI est un peu lente que les autres systèmes. Ainsi, il y a un peu de cas ou le temps réel n'est pas gérer.

Yurie Katri
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Télécommunications
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 10 000+ employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

A perfect place for program management

Publié le 01/10/2022

Safe to use as SaaS. Easy to build even on-premises, but the SaaS version can be used with peace of mind thanks to strong security measures. Obtaining ISO/IEC 27001: 2013 certification, can be used with greater peace of mind, making it easier to approve the internal introduction request. If you are confident in the security, you can operate free of charge by creating a local server. When creating the request form to send to the internal IT department when submitting the SaaS version, there were some unclear points about security management in GitLab, but GitLab support took the trouble to conduct a remote meeting and was able to resolve all doubts.

Avantages

The source code can be managed anywhere as long as you are connected to the Internet. The editor also supports Once editing is finished, you can manage versions by connecting to the Internet and clicking, so you do not need to be connected to the Internet all the time. The source code editing software also supports this, so you can manage it with GUI button operation.

Inconvénients

There is issue management, but there is no task management feature. Therefore, we are forced to handle GitLab + Redmine. If you have a task management feature, you can consolidate with this, and work efficiency will increase.

Andy
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Télécommunications
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 10 000+ employés
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

The first step to using Git on your computer is from this tool

Publié le 24/08/2022

I think it's good that you can use it in basically the same way as GitHub, and that you can manage it by making use of your existing knowledge. Also, I think it's nice that GitLab has unique features that are easier to use, such as a feature that changes the display of the file icon for each file extension.

Avantages

Using Git as a configuration management tool is already common sense (essential), but I think this software is the most used for remote (distributed) development. There are many cases where you install Git on each person's terminal and operate the commands, but if it is team development and you can't use an "external (public Internet) repository", it is better to set up and operate a Git repository with GitLab I think it will be the safest and standard way to use Git.

Inconvénients

I guess there is no choice but to get used to it, but I would like to see more visual changes and expressions (messages) when conflicts occur that are easier to understand for beginners. After all, I'd like to see them develop an interface that makes it easier to understand the concept of Git configuration in the first place.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

With the end of MS-VSS support and the trend of the times, it was necessary to use Git for configuration management, and I was looking for a Git configuration management tool that could be used by groups (and remotely) instead of individuals, so we decided to implement GitLab.

Logiciel antérieur 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

I think it is the first candidate for managing the configuration of development assets in internal development (because the use of Git itself is a global standard). There was a feature that changed the display of the file icon for each file extension, and it had the advantage that it was possible to reduce the file selection error. Also, unlike GitHub, it has not been acquired by Microsoft, so I think it is an advantage that it can be used with confidence in terms of security.
Piotr
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 51-200 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Best git management tool on the market

Publié le 24/08/2022

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management tool I ever used. Everything that is needed by the user is already built-in. CI/CD is handled brilliantly and can be quickly set up without a lot of training before. The whole app is intuitive and easy to use (especially if a user has some experience with similar apps). Documentation is big and contains not only facts but also examples, which allows saving a lot of time during debugging or introducing new functionalities. GitLab is well known around the internet, so community support is also good. If a user has some problem, it is probably resolved inside documentation or in one of the web forums. The flexibility of GitLab is huge. It can be easily adjusted to a company's needs without any problems. Processes may be set up differently in various projects and integration between them is almost seamless.
On the other hand, the price per user is quite high, especially on better plans, so GitLab can quickly become expensive in bigger companies. The second disadvantage is that some less-known tools cannot be integrated with the app. However, the list is being extended and devs are listening to a community so the more some app integration is needed, the more likely it is.
In my opinion, GitLab is the best git management tool I ever used - particularly because of CI/CD. If you can afford the price, it is worth it!

Avantages

A huge number of features.
Intuitive and easy to use.
Extensive documentation and good customer service.
Flexibility of customization.

Inconvénients

It can become expensive, particularly if the company has many users.
Some less-known external tools cannot be integrated.

Pius
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Internet
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 8.0 /10

Gitlab

Publié le 29/05/2022

Satisfactory! Started out on the free plan, and as the project grew and I needed more space and developers on it we upgraded and even got more access to more tools to better streamline our DevOps processes and overall project development.

Avantages

Gitlab offers you a secure space to store and manage your git repositories, for personal use and or for your organization's development team. You can easily assign tasks to team members, and track and follow up on them with clearly laid out and categorized Kanban boards.

Inconvénients

Gitlab's UI and UX are quite overwhelming for a first-time user. If you are new to Gitlab and you haven't used a similar platform like Github or Bitbucket before, you will definitely need a little training to fully utilize your Gitlab space. Make sure to get through the entire onboarding tutorial to avoid feeling lost because it's all going to seem very clunky and difficult to find your way at the beginning.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

We did not entirely shift. We work with both Gitlab and Github for different projects within the organization.

Logiciel antérieur 

GitHub

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

We were already working with Github and found that Gitlab was a powerful solution we could add to our stack. We use GitLab for specific projects that are more timebound and we need to move fast on.
Arzu
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 11-50 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Easy to use, comprehensive, open-source tool for project management

Publié le 23/04/2022

We have set up and customized GitLab on our own servers in order to manage a project where digital marketing, software, devops, human resources and many teams work together. This really relieved us of a great burden. Everyone's own project management area on GitLab was clear, besides, the issues and projects that they needed to work on were also very clear. We can follow many processes such as product development, project management, task tracking in a sustainable way. It also serves as a great archive for people who join the team later.

Avantages

GitLab is an easy to use and versatile project management tool. As a team, we use it not only for software development projects, but also for the follow-up of our other projects. It is really great that it is customizable, you can simplify your interface for your teammates who cannot use complex applications. This offers you a more user-friendly product.

Inconvénients

It's a little harder for people other than engineers to adapt. You shouldn't expect traditional drag-and-drop kanban boards. It's a bit of a technical product. But if we consider that the intended use of the product, this is really normal, not a big minus.

Alternatives envisagées 

Jira

Logiciel antérieur 

GitHub
Marc
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Internet
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 201-500 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Customizable management system for any project

Publié le 24/02/2022

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Avantages

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work.
In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them.

GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Inconvénients

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub et Google Drive

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.
Morgan
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Santé, bien-être et fitness
  • Taille de l'entreprise: Auto-entrepreneur
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

A great hosted Git SCM solution

Publié le 18/02/2022

We were trying to have a central hosted repository SCM system. For issue management we normally use Linear, although for smaller projects we keep track of issues using the integrated issue manager. The product integrates seamlessly in the development workflow, implementing and enforcing best industry practices onto all the contributors of the project, and allows for quick deployments to production and testing with its integrated CI/CD system.

Avantages

GitLab is a great integrated SCM, Issue Management and CI/CD solution which is a pleasure to work with. The tools feel very nicely integrated and cooperate very well. It embodies by default the best practices for code management and is developed by a company which has open source and transparency at its heart, thus reassuring that the product can be trusted, either as a SaaS solution or as a self-hosted solution.

Inconvénients

The SaaS version of the problem has over the year suffered some issues; however these have been decreasing over time and the company has made a hosted experience on par of those of other SaaS solutions. The resource consumption of the product is not to be taken lightly; however for small teams it has a relatively inexpensive monthly server cost.

Matthew
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 51-200 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Powerful toolset that are available on premise!

Publié le 16/09/2021

I am happy with the toolset - very grateful to the gitlab community for the work done on this. It allows small startup companies to create their own instance and manage gitlab CI deployment pipelines.

Avantages

I am not constrained at all by a company like GitHub or Bitbucket. It allows my team to have faith that what we are working on - remains in house. For piece of mind - without using git native.

Inconvénients

Difficult to setup for the uninitiated linux administrator. Administration and upgrades are also difficult to do.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

I needed to ensure that our repositories are private and held on premise.

Logiciel antérieur 

GitHub et Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

GitLab is totally free and can be hosted on premise.
Alejandro
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Internet
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 11-50 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

The best opensource tool for software engineering management

Publié le 26/05/2021

We're hosting all of our private code repositories on gitlab.com, using the issue tracker, merge requests. We also run our continuos builds and deploy directly to our Google Cloud Kubernetes Engine workloads.

Avantages

It's opensource though provides a cloud based solution with a really good free tier. It allows integrating code repositories with issue tracking and continuos integration and continuos deployment

Inconvénients

User experience could be largely improved. Searching and filters are a bit clunky from the UX point of view. Also bulk actions are only allowed at project level.

Alternatives envisagées 

Jira

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

We wanted to have issue tracking, code repositories, merge requests and continuos integration/deployment all in the same tool.

Logiciel antérieur 

Trello et Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

It was the best alternative for our budget, and it allowed us to use our own Google Cloud Platform account to run Continuos Integration/Deployment jobs
Corentin
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Internet
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 201-500 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Publié le 25/01/2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Avantages

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Inconvénients

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

Needed better CI/CD.

Logiciel antérieur 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.
Thiago
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 51-200 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

Great for DevOps teams

Publié le 31/12/2020

Avantages

GitLab has all the must-have features for complete development and deployment flow.
The easy-to-configure pipeline is a differential, mainly due to the possibility of installing the agent (GitLab runner) in our infrastructure.
Issue management and merge requests are excellent and do not fall short of your direct competitors.
I use the GitLab in the cloud (SaaS) and on-premises, and it supplies my DevOps needs and team collaboration on the code review process.

Inconvénients

On bitbucket, it is possible to see in realtime when a coworker is reviewing the merge request (pull request). It would be great to see this feature on GitLab too. The Runner registration is a bit harder when using an automation like Ansible.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub et Azure DevOps Services

Logiciel antérieur 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

The gitlab pipeline feature.
Edward
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 51-200 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Git Awesome

Publié le 08/07/2020

It is such a great system. We use it daily at work and I integrated it into my homelab as well to keep change controls and ci/cd under control. It has made my homelab crazy efficient when I need to do things. For work it makes our daily tasks very easy to manage and it's much more integrated than having to build out all of the atlassian stack.

Avantages

This product is excellent and has both enterprise edition and community edition making it very inexpensive to get into and then moving to enterprise once setup and still very inexpensive compared to other options out there. You also can set up a private gitlab server either in docker or bare metal. I cannot rave enough about git lab.

Inconvénients

There's not much to not like about it. It's a very capable system that can be deployed in every type of way imaginable. If I was to nitpick then I would say adding additional users can be a pain without having self registration available.

Alternatives envisagées 

Jira, Bitbucket et Confluence

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

We utilize them side by side for different tasks. Our atlassian stack is used for more dev purposes as that team is more comfortable with it as opposed to gitlab where our infrastructure team utilizes it.
Andrei
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Internet
  • Taille de l'entreprise: Auto-entrepreneur
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

A great free alternative to GitHub if you need large repos and teams

Publié le 02/04/2020

GitLab helped us solve all of our backup and collaboration needs for our large file projects. While we do have on-site physical backups just in case, GitLab is great at keeping the core files safe. On the physical backup we put big assets and on GitLab mostly the code.

If it wasn't for GitLab we'd be using GitHub for some projects only as certain files surpass their limit.

Avantages

The biggest pro for us at JeFawk Games (me and my freelancing friends, not employees as stated) was the fact that it allowed for 1GB of space for free in private repos! Since we're working on games, we really needed the space and the privacy. This was from before GitHub was acquired by Microsoft and gave away unlimited free repos.

Time forwarding a bit and GitHub is giving out free private repos of max 1GB with the option to use the Large File Storage thing, which in GitLab you don't need to bother with as you get it by default.

It includes DevOps and a lot of other features that frankly we don't make use of.

It's just the much bigger space by default and up to 3 collaborators. GitLab is great! Although it does have some cons....

Inconvénients

One of the biggest problem with GitLab is that their website is a bit laggy. You can wait 1 to 4 seconds for some pages to load.
Another issue is that we actually use the GitHub Desktop application to handle GitLab repositories and the setup to connect the application to GitLab is kinda clunky, more like to allow GitLab to be grabbed as URL. Wouldn't wanna go through that again, hopefully they already streamlined it as last time I did it was about 2 years ago.

Utilisateur vérifié
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Marketing et publicité
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 51-200 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

A discrete item in your toolkit

Publié le 10/03/2020

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Avantages

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day.

The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Inconvénients

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Peter
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Enseignement supérieur
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 501-1 000 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 8.0 /10

Code repositories and version tracking

Publié le 10/01/2020

GitLab ensures our code is safe and secure, everything is version tracked, we can easily collaborate with other colleagues and allows for a good QA environment before launch.

Avantages

GitLab allows users to easily store their code projects and files in a safe and secure environment, allowing easy collaboration amongst users.
You can import repositories from other Git tools (such as GitHub) with ease, GitLab also imports any version history and accompanying branches.
The ability to make certain repositories private is excellent, most similar git systems charge extra for this service.

Inconvénients

The user-interface, though clean and responsive, can be hard to use and master. Especially for new users, training is definitely required.
The integration with interfacing tools is lacking, most systems (such as GitKraken) require a premium license to connect with GitLab.
User management can be complicated, as the user interface isn't particularly clear here, and the different levels of access aren't clearly identified.

Utilisateur vérifié
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus d'un an
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Great platform to host your project!

Publié le 12/12/2019

Overall, GitLab is a good for development. Most commonly used features such as MR and code review work very well on GitLab. The best feature on GitLab is CI/CD, it has everything you need to build an automated pipeline, from build agents to container registry.
However, the exploration feature is not as robust as other services and there is still a lot of rooms for improvement.

Avantages

GitLab CI is great. The GitLab CI/CD language allows us to build complex pipelines easily, pipeline's configs are stored in the repository as well, so we can manage everything in one place. GitLab also has built-in Docker registry. We have both our build pipeline and our images hosted on GitLab.
The pricing is also flexible, I recommend it for both startup and large enterprises.

Inconvénients

Explore Projects feature can be better, it would be more useful if we have a filter to select projects by technologies.
Should support templates on the job level, so it can be reused between multiple environments.
Lack of integration: there are not many 3rd party services that integrate with GitLab for now.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub et Bitbucket

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

Better CI/CD

Logiciel antérieur 

Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

Better CI/CD
Sachith
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Gestion de l'enseignement
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 10 000+ employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

The Best DevOps Platform

Publié le 30/10/2019

Overall, GitLab is an excellent program for freelancers. It's really simple to use, simple to administrate and offers all that users need for developing. And if users implement it in the correct way it will speed up their development effectively. Adding more to this, it provides excellent ways to manage git repositories on a centralized secure server.

Avantages

Project operation: Using GitLab provides the user with complete control over their projects. Users can easily follow up activities assigned to their respective partners. Additionally, the program gives you the advantage to have members across the borders as well, hence it is pretty useful and comes in handy when the work is beyond the borders.

Easy to use: GitLab is easy to lean and very easy to use the software as it helps in creating a project by giving instructions from the beginning. The tutorial mode is extremely helpful and because of that no experience or expertise is required to exhaust all the features offered by GitLab.

Inconvénients

Contact Support: Although GitLab provides a good platform for its users, unfortunately, their contact section is poor. Users are unable to recover if they face any problem as the administration is limited. Administration can only be at your service if you own the premium version.

Complicated: Although Gitlab is easy to learn when it comes to the menu users tend to feel as if they are lost in some sort of maze. The menu is pretty much clunky because of this some of its users are unable to use GitLab to its full potential. Additionally, the efficiency of users is reduced to a great extent when they wish to search for aspects because it consumes time and energy.

Dennis
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Automobile
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 11-50 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

One stop shop for planning, development, and operations

Publié le 12/10/2019

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.

Avantages

Integration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.

Inconvénients

Sometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.

Alternatives envisagées 

Redmine

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

Nicer user interface, more frequent updates, larger community, more features. Helm chart deployment gets me all the things I need in my Kubernetes cluster to develop and deploy any and all web apps (or run existing ones).

Logiciel antérieur 

Redmine

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

Everything in one, better user interface, open source
Lilantha
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 201-500 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

GitLab Review

Publié le 26/09/2019

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Avantages

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

Inconvénients

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub et Bitbucket

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.
Luca
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Logiciels
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé toutes les semaines pendant 6 à 12 mois
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 7.0 /10

Powerful tool - if you know how to use it!

Publié le 26/09/2019

GitLab is the code versioning system that our company uses on a daily basis. We found useful to have a fine-grained authorization management for your users/developers, that made it easier for us to ensure the only the right people can see the right things. We also use the "organisation" feature to have all our developers in the same place with the right access.

Avantages

The products has plenty of features, as well as supporting all the basic Git operations/merge requests, you are given a wide choice of CI pipelines you can set up from within the project. Need more? Integrations with metrics, error tracking, kubernetes, snippets and more.
I never had any problem so far, it's stable and always up.

Inconvénients

The major issue for me is that these features are advanced, and if you want to use the repository as just that, you find yourself overwhelmed with loads of choices that you don't really need. Therefore, sometimes I find it hard to look for a button which should be the most visible element on the screen. Additionally, I found the arrangement of information in the "merge request" screen a bit counterintuitive compared with similar services.

Alternatives envisagées 

Azure DevOps Server

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

You can create organisations for free and have several private repositories (also for free). Additionally the idea that we could setup the CI/CD pipelines was a plus looking forward.

Logiciel antérieur 

GitHub

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

We decided to go the easy way. Gitlab was less painful to setup and had less restrictions (e.g. on the number of users)
Arnold
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 10 000+ employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant 6 à 12 mois
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 9.0 /10

A complete tool to store your projects and configure your CI/CD

Publié le 07/08/2019

I have great thoughts about GitLab my experience has been really good. I was really impressed when I started working with it and configured the first project there. I definitely recommend GitLab to anyone that wants to start a new project and doesn't want to use too many tools, GitLab has everything that you need to start.

Avantages

I started using GitLab for an external project and I like the following:
1) Easy to work with and auto explanatory. Creating/configuring a new repository is really easy.
2) Great CI/CD implementation. Having the repository with built-in CI/CD is really convenient, you can have everything related to the build and deployment process saved along with your code. I have used bamboo and I really appreciate this feature, it might have its problems but it is really useful.
3) Unlimited private docker registry, you can have your own private registry for free. I cannot express how useful this is.
4) In order to help with the CI/CD process it allows the creation of tokens with access restrictions (read only), so you can use these tokens to download your code or your docker containers without having to provide your personal credentials.
5) It has its own task manager
6) It has free agents that are in charge of executing your builds/deploys so you don't have to provide your own resources.

Inconvénients

1) Configuring build variables is really messy and it is not an ideal implementation. I haven't found a way to set different values for them depending on the branch, so configuring different environments is not too easy
2) Even though having your code with CI/CD is really convenient, it has some drawbacks. If you have an established continuous deployment process that you repeat in many projects and you want to change it (maybe a fix it or improve it) you will have to add that change to all your repositories and all the branches that you want to deploy. So it is a really good feature but it is not too flexible
3) The task manager is messy, and I didn't find a way to have a shared board.
4) It does not have too many software integrations, as I mentioned before I have used bamboo and I really like their integration with other software

Istvan
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 11-50 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

Gitlab: A Feature-full alternative to Github

Publié le 06/08/2019

We are utilizing gitlab to handle our code versioning and our continous integration and delivery pipeline. This includes our whole workflow from writting code to building it, testing it and deploying it to production.

Avantages

- Excellent UI that is easy to understand: many of our developers are migrating for the first time from other software (github, bitbucket) and a constant comment is that the ui is intuitive and easy to understand compared to previous software. The transition is always smooth.
- Feature-full product: Gitlab offers a variety of features that I have found to be excellent and of high quality. The code-review process in gitlab is always smooth with the ability to resolve or re-open discussions, address specific comments or the whole of the discussion, the ability to suggest and even apply and commit code from the ui is also a huge plus. The IDE is decent and the file editor is also decent. The CI/CD integration with gitlab runners is smooth, the notification system is great. I get an email whenever a test fails. All from the gitlab ecosystem, i do not need to go to circleCi or some other provider for all of this, which allows the ui and experience to be consistent.

Inconvénients

At this very moment there is no feature or issue that I have found to be detrimental to my experience.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub et Bitbucket

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

At the moment of the switch, Gitlab offered free private repos. At the moment both Github and Gitlab have this feature; however, I would not switch back to Github due to the ecosystem i've grown accustomed to in gitlab.

Logiciel antérieur 

GitHub

Pourquoi passer à GitLab

At the moment, mostly private repositories. Over time, it became a matter of more bang-for-the-buck: more features, a friendlier Ui, more polished software.
Damian
Note globale
  • Secteur d'activité: Services et technologies de l'information
  • Taille de l'entreprise: 2-10 employés
  • Logiciel utilisé tous les jours pendant plus de deux ans
  • Provenance de l'avis

Note globale

  • Rapport qualité-prix
  • Simplicité d'utilisation
  • Support client
  • Probabilité de recommander le produit 10.0 /10

GitLab is the best for its CI

Publié le 10/06/2019

Avantages

GitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.

Inconvénients

Several pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.

Alternatives envisagées 

GitHub

Pourquoi choisir GitLab 

Lack of proper, tightly-integrated CI.

Logiciel antérieur 

GitHub